The Leadership

The President:

His Holiness Pope Francis

Pope400.png Pope400.png

The Secretary General:

Cardinal Mario GRECH

Grech400.png Grech400.png

The Undersecretaries:


Rev. Sr Nathalie BECQUART, X.M.C.J.

Nat_Luis.png Nat_Luis.png

The General Secretariat of the Synod is composed of the Ordinary Council of bishops.

In its work, the General Secretariat also avails itself of the collaboration of a group of Consultors, Advisory Committees and Commissions.

For further information, visit the official website of the General Secretariat of the Synod.

The General Rapporteur of the XVI Ordinary General Assembly of the Synod of Bishops

Cardinal Jean-Claude HOLLERICH SJ

hollerich.png hollerich.png
XV Ordinary Council of the Synod of Bishops

The Members of the Ordinary Council take office at the end of the Ordinary General Assembly that elected them, are Members of the following Ordinary General Assembly and cease to hold office when the latter is dissolved.

  • His Beatitude Ignace Youssif III YOUNAN, Patriarch of Antioch of the Syrians, Head of the Synod of the Syrian Catholic Church (Lebanon).
  • Cardinal Christoph SCHÖNBORN, O.P., Archbishop of Wien (Austria).
  • Cardinal Oswald GRACIAS, Archbishop of Bombay, President of the Bishops' Conference (India).
  • Cardinal Gérald Cyprien LACROIX, I.S.P.X., Archbishop of Quebec, (Canada).
  • Cardinal Charles Maung BO, S.D.B., Archbishop of Yangon (Myanmar).
  • Cardinal Daniel Fernando STURLA BERHOUET, S.D.B., Archbishop of Montevideo (Uruguay).
  • Cardinal Dieudonné NZAPALAINGA, C.S.Sp., Archbishop of Bangui (Central African Republic).
  • Cardinal Sérgio da ROCHA, Archbishop of Brasilia (Brazil).
  • Cardinal Joseph William TOBIN, C.S.R., Archbishop of Newark (United States of America).
  • Cardinal Juan José OMELLA OMELLA, Archbishop of Barcelona (Spain).
  • Cardinal Joseph COUTTS, Archbishop of Karachi (Pakistan).
  • Cardinal Matteo Maria ZUPPI, Archbishop of Bologna (Italy).
  • H.E. Msgr. Gabriel MBILINGI, C.S.Sp., Archbishop of Lubango (Angola).
  • H.E. Msgr. Anthony Colin FISHER, O.P., Archbishop of Sydney (Australia).
  • H.E. Msgr. Jaime CALDERÓN CALDERÓN, Bishop of Tapachula (Mexico).
  • H.E. Msgr. Andrew FUANYA NKEA, Archbishop of Bamenda (Cameroon).
Consultors of the General Secretariat of the Synod
  • H.E. Msgr. Timothy John COSTELLOE, SDB, Archbishop of Perth
  • H.E. Msgr. Erio CASTELLUCCI, Archbishop of Modena-Nonantola and Bishop of Carpi
  • Rev. Msgr. Pierangelo SEQUERI, John Paul II Pontifical Theological Institute for the Sciences of Marriage and the Family
  • Rev. Msgr. Piero CODA, Secretary of the Pontifical International Theological Commission
  • Rev. Msgr. Alphonse BORRAS, Episcopal Vicar of the Diocese of Liège (Belgium)
  • Rev. Father Giuseppe BONFRATE, Pontifical Gregorian University
  • Rev. Father Gilles ROUTHIER, Professor of Theology at Université Laval (Canada)
  • Rev. Father Ormond RUSH, Associate Professor of Theology at the Australian Catholic University
  • Rev. Father Dario VITALI, Pontifical Gregorian University
  • Rev. Father Gaby Alfred HACHEM, Pontifical Faculty of Theology of the Holy Spirit University in Kaslik
  • Rev. Father Giacomo COSTA, S.I., President of the San Fedele Cultural Foundation
  • Rev. Father Paul BÉRÉ, S.I., Pontifical Biblical Institute
  • Sister Birgit WEILER, M.M.S, Professor of Theology at the Pontificia Universidade Católica del Perú
  • Prof. Myriam WIJLENS, University of Erfurt
  • Prof. Tricia C. BRUCE, President-elect of the Association for the Sociology of Religion,
  • Prof. Maria Clara LUCCHETTI BINGEMER, Professor of Theology at the Pontificia Universidade Católica do Rio de Janeiro