04 December 2021, 19:05

The Theological Commission, born in the spirit of service and communion that marked the ecclesiology of the Second Vatican Council, is formed by authoritative experts from the various continents representing different skills and cultures. Its aim is to participate, help and collaborate in the journey of the People of God. It works in plenary sessions and by thematic, continental and regional groups. The Theological Commission has created four thematic groups (for a synodal bibliography, for a synodal dictionary, for a re-reading of canon law and for ongoing formation).

In addition to assisting the Synod Secretariat in its work by reviewing texts and official documents, presenting proposals for the development and deepening of the theme of synodality, the Commission is available to accompany and support the work of the bishops' conferences and church associations with regard to synodality.



  • H.E. Mgr Faustino Armendáriz Jiménez (Mexico)
  • Rev. Fr. Riccardo Battocchio (Italy)
  • Rev. Fr. Paul Béré, S.J. (Burkina Faso)
  • Rev. Fr. Giuseppe Bonfrate (Italy)
  • Rev. Msgr. Alphonse Borras (Belgium)
  • Rev. Fr. Agenor Brighenti (Brazil)
  • Rt. Rev. Dr. Eloy Bueno de la Fuente (Spain)
  • Rev. Msgr. Piero Coda (Italy)
  • Prof. Kristen Colberg (United States)
  • Rev. Sr. Anne Béatrice Faye, C.I.C. (Burkina Faso)
  • Rev. Fr. Carlos Maria Galli (Argentina)
  • Rev. Sr. Gill Goulding, C.J. (Canada)
  • Rev. Fr. Gaby Alfred Hachem (Lebanon)
  • H.E. Msgr. Flaviano Rami Al Kabalan (Syria)
  • Rev. Fr. Thomas Kollamparampil C.M.I. (India)
  • Prof. Rafael Luciani (Venezuela)
  • Rev. Fr. Santiago Madrigal Terrazas, S.J. (Spain)
  • Prof. Estela Padilla (Philippines)
  • Prof. Carmen Peña García (Spain)
  • Rev. Fr. Gilles Routhier (Canada)
  • Rev. Fr. Ormond Rush (Australia)
  • Rev. Fr. Nicholaus Segeja M'hela (Tanzania)
  • Prof. Peter Szabo (Hungary)
  • Rev. Fr. Christoph Theobald, S.J. (Germany - France)
  • Rev. Fr. Vimal Tirimanna, C.Ss.R. (Sri Lanka)

Coordinator: H.E. Msgr. Luis MARÍN DE SAN MARTÍN O.S.A., Undersecretary of the General Secretariat of the Synod